Not About the Ring

Last Tuesday night at halftime of the Zionsville High School Varsity boys basketball game, the 2016 Z-ville Baseball Team was presented with their state finals rings. The rings are big flashy and blingy.
Seeing these boys together again made me realize this moment was not about the ring. Those massive rings on their fingers represent commitment. Commitment to each other through the wins and the losses. Commitment to the relationships built. There are countless stories behind those rings. Thirty and a half years ago Kyle Cox placed a blingy ring on my finger and said the following words….. for better or worse, for richer or poorer, in sickness and in health, till death due us part. I love the traditional wedding vows. Call me old fashioned, but I think they cover it all. When we first said those vows, we had no idea of the gravity of the words coming out of our mouths. They were just words, but oh, there was a ring. A cherished ring that emptied our savings account at the time and still glitters on my finger today represents all the stories we can now tell that trail behind those vows first promised. The forgiveness when we realized over and over that we each did have a worst side, the job loss that pulled the financial security rug out from under us, and the Parkinson’s. Behind the bling I wear on my left hand is a corner man who has stood by my side through some pretty tough moments.

No, it’s not about the ring. It’s always about the relationship behind the ring. ….BUT, I have to say, a little flash and bling never hurt anyone. 💍

img_4625-2

Author: parkinsons95

I used to be a stay in the lines, go with the flow, don't make waves kind of person. I have changed. Parkinson's is one of the many cards dealt to one in life that can shift the mind set. I am now a find the line and push beyond it, swim against the flow, and waves? I will splash and make as much joyful noise as I can, while I can, fearlessly. Brave.

Leave a Reply

