A Not So Silent Night

A Not So Silent Night

“All is calm, all is bright”….. on this Christmas Eve of 2016, memories of Christmas 2015 dance in my head. All was not calm and bright. My family had the argument of the century that day. My three boys and husband all aired our feelings that had been mounting like a pressure cooker. It was not the picturesque Norman Rockwell Christmas on a postcard. It was gritty. It was real. It was needed. We talked it out until we all ended that day with new understanding, hugs, forgiveness, and love for each other. Isn’t that what this Silent night, holy night brought to us, not a passive love, but a love of action who fought for us in life and died so that we may forgive and be forgiven? It’s what I pray always for my 3 boys, not silence that lasts for days and then lasts for months then years, but brotherly
Love that is willing to come together and work out any relationship problem they may have. Sometimes silence is good. Sometimes it is the last thing a relationship needs. May your Christmas be merry and bright and not so silent if that is what is most needed at your house tonight. As for us, after church, we plan on a quiet night of watching A Christmas Story and the Yule Log this year! Merry Christmas, Everyone!

Author: parkinsons95

I used to be a stay in the lines, go with the flow, don't make waves kind of person. I have changed. Parkinson's is one of the many cards dealt to one in life that can shift the mind set. I am now a find the line and push beyond it, swim against the flow, and waves? I will splash and make as much joyful noise as I can, while I can, fearlessly. Brave.

Leave a Reply

