Help! I need somebody….

“Help! I need somebody
Help! Not just anybody
Help! You know I need someone
Help!”

In 1965 John Lennon was credited for writing the lyrics to a song titled Help! I was 5 years old, I am part of the tail end of the baby boomer era. The words to this song have become a reality in my life.

Song…..
“(When) When I was younger (When I was young) so much younger than today
(I never need) I never needed anybody’s help in any way
(Now) But now these days are gone (These days are gone) and I’m not so self assured
(And now I find) Now I find I’ve changed my mind, I’ve opened up the doors”

Age 49 was the turning point for me when I opened up the door to my home and my heart to accept help from those around me. Up until that point, I was invincible and had life all figured out. A benign tumor on my cervical spine, an arachnoid cyst on C7 and a Parkinson’s diagnosis all within two years brought me to my knees and singing “Help.” I call my three diagnoses “my trifecta.”

The past 7 years have been “a hard day’s night” and I should be sleeping like a dog (Beatles), but Parkinson’s doesn’t let you sleep, so I write. At 4 am, I write. Hoping that this may be the “help” that you need and that we can find each other. Are you out there? What has brought you to your knees calling help or are you still in the invincible stage of life?

I have found this place called Rock Steady Boxing, and I have fully embraced this activity to fight my disease, but the boxing is only partly what helps. “I have found somebody, not just anybody (Beatles) I have found people who understand, who “want to hold my hand. (Beatles again). I have found that if we share with each other we can “Beat it!” (sorry, that was a little Michael Jackson)

The older I get, the more the lines between who is different from me fade in so many ways. I just know that we need to look beyond the surface and know that we all need help and to help each other in some way. We need each other. So, are you out there? Do you have words of wisdom from your life story that can help me and others? That is what my blog is about, coming together to offer hope and encouragement.

Cause “all you need is love, da da da da da da, all you need is love, da da da da da, all you need is love, love, Love Is All You Need!” (I know, enough of the Beatles)

Help! I need somebody!

img_4161

Author: parkinsons95

I used to be a stay in the lines, go with the flow, don't make waves kind of person. I have changed. Parkinson's is one of the many cards dealt to one in life that can shift the mind set. I am now a find the line and push beyond it, swim against the flow, and waves? I will splash and make as much joyful noise as I can, while I can, fearlessly. Brave.

2 thoughts on “Help! I need somebody….”

  1. Dear Lisa,

    Count me in for being a follower of your blog!
    I can tell you one of the ways God has made you is so transparent & great with words! 🎁
    Your faith shines brightly & God is being glorified through your story.
    I memorized Galations 5:22-23 last month; I decided that was needed with me all the time.
    Keep blogging; I am in your cheering section.
    phoebe

    Like

    1. Phoebe, That means so much coming from you because I know your story. You did not realize how from a distance your story and your faith have given me strength and grown my own faith. Love you, Phoebe! Lisa

      Like

Leave a Reply

