Exactly

You are exactly who You are supposed to be. Do you believe that? With all of your imperfections, flaws, mistakes, insecurities, do you believe you have worth just as you are? Parkinson’s solidified that for me in a mysterious way. In my early years, I did not believe that at all. In my middle years I knew it was true based on my faith, but often still had to remind myself of that fact. It took having a disability to open my eyes to see myself differently. It took entering the world of disability for me to look around and know the pain of those around me who have lived their whole lives under the umbrella of that word disability. And, You don’t have to have a disability to feel lesser. In fact, it was when I was most able bodied that I struggled with self image and measuring up the most.

In a strange way, Parkinson’s has forced me to slow down enough to let go of many of the unrealistic expectations I had for myself. Because there are things that I do slower and need more physical effort, I have to release my grip on the image of a more perfect Me. It’s easier in some ways just to be.

That’s the sentiment in my heart where these song lyrics were born. I am now going to admit to you my crazy obsession. It’s co-writing music. I write lyrics. I have to co-write because I am a piano drop out and have zero singing voice, but music moves my soul. I have several co-writers and many songs in progress. Lol. I have one song to be released soon by Heather Richardson, my good friend and budding artist. This was my second one written with Lauren and Hannah Hobbs (Melody and vocals) and Jody Peterson (also Melody). At some point I will tell you how this music thing all began, and how The Hobbs Sisters came into my life. For now check out their website thehobbssisters.com. They are amazing country music artists on the rise.

The song is about a new mother speaking to her child, but the chorus could be for any of us who need to hear that “you’re exactly the way you’re supposed to be.”

Author: parkinsons95

I used to be a stay in the lines, go with the flow, don't make waves kind of person. I have changed. Parkinson's is one of the many cards dealt to one in life that can shift the mind set. I am now a find the line and push beyond it, swim against the flow, and waves? I will splash and make as much joyful noise as I can, while I can, fearlessly. Brave.

Leave a Reply

