I Finally Got My Big Break!

Yes, it happened. I finally got my big break in life. It took 56 years and a lot of hard work and a little fate, but it happened. I wasn’t prepared for it, but sometimes the big break happens when you least expect it and it changes the plans you had and the direction you were going. Yes, my big break happened yesterday, and before you flood me with comments of congratulations, let me pause a moment. I need to take a little medicine for pain. As I lie here on my bed with my foot propped up on a pillow, I have a different day ahead of me than I had planned.

I wish I could say that I broke a bone in my foot skiing double black diamonds or training for a marathon, but no. I was jumping rope. It was the last station of my Workout
At Rock Steady Boxing. I usually skip the jumping rope part of the workout, because, well you know, after delivering three babies, one of which was ll pounds, jump roping may as well be a double black diamond from my bladder’s point of view.

I had a great work out and this time I would not let the jump rope intimidate me. My bladder said, “ok. I’m not sure about this, but bring it on!” I could hear the Rocky music playing in my head, and in the final seconds as I heard the dinging noise that indicates that the round is about to end, it happened.
Ever so subtly without notice, the rope hit my right foot and twisted it enough so that I landed on the outside edge of my foot. I felt a small twinge of pain, but getting my big break that day never entered my mind. Slowly, over the next few hours, my foot became a painful melon and I was off to urgent care.

So here I am in bed a day later with no shower, eating Ramen noodles, saying over and over in my mind. “Bladder, I should have listened to you.” However, nothing I can do can change the fact that I got my big break yesterday. I was honored with a boot that I will wear with humble pride for 6 weeks. I have given my acceptance speech over and over. People want to hear how I jumped through the hoops and broke through to change my destiny. I just tell them, “life is full of surprises. Work hard and your big break will come some day, too.”

Yes, you never know when you will get your big break in life, but excuse me, I need to pause for a moment. I need to ring this bell next to my bed to get my husband to bring me another ice pack, adjust the tv so I can see better, and perhaps a bowl of ice cream. My big break is his big break too!!

Live fearlessly today those of you checking off lists and getting things done. As for me, I might have a second bowl of ice cream to celebrate my big break.

Author: parkinsons95

I used to be a stay in the lines, go with the flow, don't make waves kind of person. I have changed. Parkinson's is one of the many cards dealt to one in life that can shift the mind set. I am now a find the line and push beyond it, swim against the flow, and waves? I will splash and make as much joyful noise as I can, while I can, fearlessly. Brave.

4 thoughts on “I Finally Got My Big Break!”

Leave a Reply

