A Trbute to My Mother

I know. I know. I should’ve taken her class in high school. As you read my posts and cringe at the occasional run on sentence, misplacement of commas and semi colons, the confusion with lie, lay, who and whom, know that my mother was a High School Business English teacher, and I chose not to take her class. If my grammar makes you cringe and you want to correct me through comments, have at it. My mother will get a good laugh and an “I told you so” out of it.

Before I learned song format, I wrote a song about my mom and her love for grammar. It really is more of a poem than a song. So as a tribute to my mother and all the years she has tried to correct my grammar, I give you…….

Mama, I Love You Real Good

My mama was a grammar teacher when I was in school.
I didn’t take her class because I was too cool. She said that I would some day regret it.
Mama I love you,
but your grammar,
forget it

Me and my man is doing just alright. Me and him go dancing every Saturday night
Ain’t got no reason for fancy words.
Learnin that grammar is just for nerds

Mama I seen you just the other day.
Didn’t understand why you shook your head and prayed.
I done good when I was in school.
Mama remember how I was so cool.
learnin that grammar I know I should.
Mama stop your cringing you know I love you real good.

Maybe I should have went and taken your class. But this country girl got too much sass

Don’t, doesn’t Saw, seen, went, and, gone
All of these words I know I’m getting wrong.
If I’d gone listened to my mama’s teachin
I wouldn’t have to listen now to all of her preachin

Where do I put that apostrophe?
Mama, I don’t care it don’t bother me.

Maybe I should have learned it when I was in school
But remember mom, I was so cool.

learnin that grammar I know I should
Mama stop your cringing you know I love you real good.

Picture: My Mom, Me, and Creepy Photo Bomb Santa

img_4712

Author: parkinsons95

I used to be a stay in the lines, go with the flow, don't make waves kind of person. I have changed. Parkinson's is one of the many cards dealt to one in life that can shift the mind set. I am now a find the line and push beyond it, swim against the flow, and waves? I will splash and make as much joyful noise as I can, while I can, fearlessly. Brave.

4 thoughts on “A Trbute to My Mother”

Leave a Reply

