To My Favorite

I have raised three boys. I am officially now an empty nester. This letter is to my favorite boy.

Dear Son,
This letter may come as a shock to you at first but I am going to admit to you that I have a favorite. I have three boys who I love fiercely, and yes I have a favorite. At times I think of you all equally, and other times clearly one stands out among the others. What you don’t understand is that favorite fluctuates with the circumstances that each of you are in, and it also fluctuates in the moments that each of you need me the most. Times that I can remember that you may have felt my favoritism towards the other two are times that they have had great success that needs to be celebrated by this family and times they have had great pain and emotional hurt that they need my support. I won’t speak of the others without them being present. For you, the times that you have been my favorite are oh so many. You captured my heart so many ways through your growing years.
Sometimes I feel that you needed me to speak truth to you, which is not always easy, fun, or comfortable. I have three boys, and God has given me an abundant love for all three at the same time. Yes, at times it may have seemed like one was getting more attention than the other, and that is true. When it’s not your turn, I expect for you to wait patiently until you have my full attention out of love for your brothers. My sweet boy, I cannot always be there for you in your times of need, but I know who is always there for you. Turn to God in prayer and break out that Bible on your phone and let him speak to you through his Word. If you do that, I know you will always be ok. I know God has a plan for your life and it’s time for you to live it!

Now for me, I have to adjust to life with only your dad and me rattling around this quiet home. Lord help me he’s looking at RV’s.
Love you,
Mom

img_4675-2

Author: parkinsons95

I used to be a stay in the lines, go with the flow, don't make waves kind of person. I have changed. Parkinson's is one of the many cards dealt to one in life that can shift the mind set. I am now a find the line and push beyond it, swim against the flow, and waves? I will splash and make as much joyful noise as I can, while I can, fearlessly. Brave.

Leave a Reply

