Bon Voyage

Bon Voyage, Everyone! I know the typical greeting for this night is Happy New Year, but bringing in the new feels like going on a new journey for me, so I say Bon Voyage!

I’m not particularly fond of This holiday, New Year’s Eve. I was just getting comfortable with 2016 and now we have to move on? I’m not ready. My bags are not packed. 2016 was starting to feel like a comfortable pair of shoes and now I have to break in a new pair? Usually, I like new shoes, but not these new shoes. See, I’m not the optimistic ” glass half- full” kind-of girl that you all might be imaging from these posts. Underneath the humor and the zest for life is a girl who really likes old comfortable shoes and the familiar path she’s on.

2017 for me feels like getting off the boat I was on to which I am clinging and being thrown on to a new boat and forced to go on a new unknown journey.

I know that this new journey will have sunny days of warm beautiful weather when I will soak in the view from the deck and nights where I will hang over the edge of the railing to see what’s coming next ( sort of like in the Titanic with Leo DiCaprio, I mean my husband, behind me). 😀
However, there will also be storms, squalls, and wait, remember the Titanic? There could be a possible giant ice burg hidden beneath the surface on this new journey. Wait, I hear the captain calling out. Oh yeah, it’s the same captain I let steer my boat of 2016, although this captain would probably say that I tried to grab the wheel from Him many times last year. The same captain who planned my journey before I was born, knows the course I am on, and has prepared a great celebration for whenever it is time for the journeys to end is steering this boat of 2017. So don’t hide below the deck in your cabins everyone, hang over the railing to see what’s ahead. The Captain has an amazing journey planned. So I release my grip on 2016. Step on to 2017. And Captain, ” I’ll trust you with what’s ahead and try to keep my hands off the wheel!” Bring it on 2017 blisters and all. I think I’ll go shop for new shoes on Monday. There have to be good “break in the new” sales, right?

Bon Voyage, Everyone and Happy New Year!

img_4755

Author: parkinsons95

I used to be a stay in the lines, go with the flow, don't make waves kind of person. I have changed. Parkinson's is one of the many cards dealt to one in life that can shift the mind set. I am now a find the line and push beyond it, swim against the flow, and waves? I will splash and make as much joyful noise as I can, while I can, fearlessly. Brave.

1 thought on “Bon Voyage”

Leave a Reply

