Now a Man, But Always My Boy

“Now a man, but always my boy.” It’s the line in the song where I get a lump in my throat every time I hear it. Written by my dear friend and me last year for our boys, it seems like every time I turn around I have another occasion to play this song with tears running down my face whether it be a graduation, or another milestone.

It just goes way too fast. They are women and men before you can blink twice. I mean the children in our lives. Whether you are a parent, an aunt, an uncle, a grandparent, a teacher, a coach, etc., the time just slips through your fingers. Today I will go home from a three day trip to Wisconsin where I helped my middle son set up his first apartment. We helped him set up his furniture. I made his bed like I did when he was little. I lovingly hung up all of his clothes, lined his shelves with shelf paper, and stocked his refrigerator with food. I will leave him today with the prayer that is the bridge (in the middle) of this song.

“Listen to the music playing deep down inside. It was placed there by the Father before there was time.”

Middle Child, I give you my blessing to live your life. Set your goals, make mistakes, find someone to love, be loved, discover new friendships. This is your time to live your song.

And to those of you who are reading this blog, ” just be you. You can’t get wrong. Just be sure to live your song!”

Song by Kristy Ward and Lisa Cox. Sung in video by Kristy Ward.

Author: parkinsons95

I used to be a stay in the lines, go with the flow, don't make waves kind of person. I have changed. Parkinson's is one of the many cards dealt to one in life that can shift the mind set. I am now a find the line and push beyond it, swim against the flow, and waves? I will splash and make as much joyful noise as I can, while I can, fearlessly. Brave.

2 thoughts on “Now a Man, But Always My Boy”

Leave a Reply

