What?

What? If I hear that word one more time, I think I’m going to scream! Wait! That’s what I’m supposed to be doing. One of the things Parkinson’s tries to steal from a person is their voice. It takes me more effort to speak loud enough for people to hear me. It affects me mildly right now, but enough to make me and everyone around me a little crazy. “Talk louder” they say. Ok. Would you tell a person who couldn’t walk to run faster? Ok. That’s a little extreme, and I know that I am a little sensitive to this issue. Yes, I am supposed to be screaming. With Parkinson’s the more I work those voice muscles just like all the other muscles in my body, the longer I’ll have my voice. Do you know how exhausting it is to know you have to work on every muscle in your body and fight with everything you’ve got and you still know the outcome? I guess that is what war is about, and I will fight this war. You think your going to win, Parkinson’s, but you can’t take my voice. I have a faith and a God who assures me that you won’t win, and that is my strength, my friend. You can’t take my voice!! You will never take my voice!

Can’t Take My Voice
Lyrics by Lisa Cox
(To All You Musicians: These lyrics have no melody. Email me, if you
Want to cowrite. I have many more lyrics)

V1
Hey dear friend of mine
I didn’t welcome you to stay.
But you ignored my subtle hints
and did not go away
At first I fought the thought of you
now your part of every day
I remember days without you.
Before you rudely looked my way

Chorus
At times you put me on the edge
you’re raw and maddening
And times you are a blessing
I look around and want to sing
You’ll be with me to the end
in that I have no choice
You can take away many things
But through this song
you can’t take my voice

V
Hey dear friend
we’re in a race
the battle has begun
As we run side-by-side.
You think that you have won
As you try to over come
I call to hope and feel it’s force
my friends are in this race with me
They help me stay the course

Chorus
At times you put me on the edge
youre raw and maddening
And times you are a blessing
I look around and want to sing
You’ll be with me to the end
in that I have no choice
You can take away many things
But through this song
you can’t take my voice

B
Hey dear friend you’ve blessed me
with a window
Now I see
The pain and suffering of this world
you are my mystery

Chorus
At times you put me on the edge
youre raw and maddening
And times you are a blessing
I look around and want to sing
You’ll be with me to the end in that I have no choice
You can take away many things
But through this song
you can’t take my voice

Author: parkinsons95

I used to be a stay in the lines, go with the flow, don't make waves kind of person. I have changed. Parkinson's is one of the many cards dealt to one in life that can shift the mind set. I am now a find the line and push beyond it, swim against the flow, and waves? I will splash and make as much joyful noise as I can, while I can, fearlessly. Brave.

Leave a Reply

