Page Fourteen

What do you do when you meet a new friend who when the moment you meet, you knew you are going to be friends for life? Well, of course, you write a country song about her. Doesn’t everyone do that?

I knew I was going to love Page Fourteen before I actually met her. Why, because she started it, the banter and kidding.

Last spring, Janelle Morrison wrote an article about my fight against Parkinson’s in our Towne Post Zionsville magazine.

http://www.townepost.com/indiana/zionsville/living_with_purpose/

I was on the cover of the magazine. I’m not sure how her photographer pulled it off, but the picture on the cover of my husband and me was probably the best we’ve ever taken. Photoshopped is my best guess. Lol. Yes, my mug was plastered on the cover of this magazine and I was the featured story. In small print on page fourteen of the magazine was a short little article about a woman named Linda Porter who is also battling Parkinson’s Disease.

Linda and I have a mutual friend who insisted that we meet, so through this friend we exchanged emails.

She wrote first. It started like this. Dear Cover Girl….. Oh, that’s the moment I loved this friend, and I wrote back, ” Dear Page Fourteen, ………….

Little did I know that humble Page Fourteen had already been featured in a televised newscast on her battle with this Disease and has been for years a well known beloved fire ball at Rock Steady Boxing.

https://www.youtube.com/shared?ci=vpcEfNtytRA

I should probably blame my broken foot on Page Fourteen since she is the one who drug me to the Rock Steady Boxing gym on the east side of Indianapolis for the first time. Yes, Porterhouse, as they call her at the gym, is older then I am. (I won’t divulge her age), but looks my age and is my inspiration to do at least 25 real push ups in a row. She is petite and mighty and giving this Disease a run for it’s money. But it goes beyond the kidding and the banter, in the short time I have known her Page Fourteen and I have also held hands, cried together and shared our grief over this Disease.
Page Fourteen, you are a rock star and it’s not a race for a Grammy, but we are in this race together. Love you, Page Fourteen!

Page Fourteen (lyrics)

V1
 I Worked so hard to make it to the top
Rocked the bars each night so late I would drop
I Spent long days writing that next big hit
 Hold me back, baby, gonna throw a fit

Pre Chorus
Sitting on the table smiling back at me
My rival, my nemesis I tried to beat

Chorus
She was on the cover of the magazine
she was talkin smack and Lookin so mean
Her music was good just like her Photoshopped face
She sprinted past me in that 
Grammy race
She was on the cover
the gossip magazine
I was just the local girl on page fourteen

V2
We both grew up singing since we were just three 
I looked up to her, she was staring down at me
Then she got her one big break
  I was still waiting tables serving steak

Pre Chorus
Sitting on the table smiling back at me
My rival, my nemesis  I tried to beat

Chorus
She was on the cover of the  magazine
she was talkin smack and Lookin  so mean
her music was good just like  her Photoshopped  face
She’s sprinted past me in that Grammy race
She was on the cover of the gossip magazine
I was just the local girl on page fourteen

Bridge
Turn on the radio, I hear my song
Paparazzi outside a mile long

Chorus
Now we’re both on the cover of the magazine
wer’re Talkin smack yes her and me
our music is rockin not a hair out of place 
We’ve joined forces in this music race
both on the cover of the gossip magazine
There’s a new girl in the wings on  page fourteen

Tag:  We all do our time on page fourteen 
Fight our way to the top off of page fourteen. 

img_3337

Author: parkinsons95

I used to be a stay in the lines, go with the flow, don't make waves kind of person. I have changed. Parkinson's is one of the many cards dealt to one in life that can shift the mind set. I am now a find the line and push beyond it, swim against the flow, and waves? I will splash and make as much joyful noise as I can, while I can, fearlessly. Brave.

Leave a Reply

