Healing. I Have a Dream…..

Healing. I Have a Dream….

I broke my foot three weeks ago. Ugh! It’s been 3 annoying weeks in a “boot,” not cute winter stylish boots. The only thing I like about winter is cute boots. It’s not fun to shop for boot!!! This morning I had my first doctor’s appointment to check the healing process. After the x-ray, I got the news. Yes, it is healing slowly. I have 3 more weeks in this lovely boot. I have a dream….. , a small dream, but a dream to one day box again and wear cute boots.

This day represents healing in a much bigger way. It is a day of healing on which we honor another doctor who had a dream, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.
They say healing takes time, but I say it takes something more than time. It takes effort and intention, and a willingness to be uncomfortable with change, and the biggest thing of all trust.

Just like I have to be patient with the time it’s going to take my foot to heal, I also have to be intentional to follow the doctor’s orders, take more effort each day to lug this boot around, and be willing to be uncomfortable with the change of wearing this boot for three more weeks. Most of all, I have to trust that all this time my foot will be healing. It may be too easy of a comparison, but I feel like our nation has the same process to heal it’s racial divided past. Yes, time heals, but there will be no healing unless we take time to step out of our comfort zone and choose to walk in someone else’s “boot” and really get to know them. This takes intention and effort and it is the only way to shake up relational groups and divisions between us whether those are racial divisions, economic divisions, or anything else that separates people by stereotype or bias. So will you take a chance, be intentional and step out of your comfort zone and meet someone new today? That’s how we heal. Reach out and Trust.

Yes, I have a song lyric for this topic too. Lol
I’ll give you just two lines.

“All I had to do
oh to change my point of view
Is walk one day in your shoes.”

Oh, how I can’t wait to wear shoes. By the time I’m ready, and this boot comes off, there should be some really good clearance sales!

Thank you, Martin Luther King Jr. Thank you for reaching out and trusting that with time, the world could change.

img_4997

Author: parkinsons95

I used to be a stay in the lines, go with the flow, don't make waves kind of person. I have changed. Parkinson's is one of the many cards dealt to one in life that can shift the mind set. I am now a find the line and push beyond it, swim against the flow, and waves? I will splash and make as much joyful noise as I can, while I can, fearlessly. Brave.

1 thought on “Healing. I Have a Dream…..”

  1. Great blog, Lisa. And so true. Today I did this very thing. A young man with special needs was refusing to enter the doctor’s office.
    He was getting irrate (nonverbal). Everyone sat there and watched. I got up and tried to calm him and help his companion.
    We were successful. Normally, I stand back.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

