Big Mouth + Phone Addiction = Awkward

Big Mouth + Phone Addiction = Awkward

I was torn on this one. Should I title it “Put Down Your Phone” or “Shut Your Big Mouth? I compromised. Also, the name of my friend is changed to protect the innocent, which is not me.
Ok. I’ll just dive in on this one. Here we go.

There is another family in my town who I know is dealing with Parkinson’s, and they live their lives so fully that it made me want to reach out and get to know them better. The husband, let’s call him Fred, is about my age and is my fellow Parkinson’s fighter. His wife, let’s call her Wilma, is his corner man ( woman).

Now after reaching out to them through Facebook, I learned that Fred also is involved with Rock Steady Boxing. However, he also has access to a large gym and a friend who used to be an amateur boxer who now works with Fred privately.

Not long after corresponding with this generous, kind couple, Fred invited me to box with his personal trainer friend.

So the evening came of my first semi-private boxing lesson. Since I did not know where the gym was, Fred was picking me up. Now, I know that this is getting long, but hang in there. It’s worth it. Keep reading.

As I stood in the front doorway of my home with my husband by my side, workout clothes on, boxing gloves in my hands, I watched Fred drive into my driveway promptly at 5:30 pm. He pulled up in a little two seater Mercedes convertible. The car was a head turner, and I smiled, looked back at my husband and and said, “See ya,” with a little wave. My husband stood and watched me drive off with Fred in this “hot, little car.”

When I returned home from the boxing session, as soon as I walked in the door, my husband started teasing me. He was only kidding because I know this was totally out of character for him and us. He kept repeating in a syrupy sarcastic voice, “did you have fun with your boyfriend and his hot car?” “What did you talk about?” I just kept saying, “Kyle, stop it! Not funny! We talked about our tremors and meds, ok?” Kyle and I had a private laugh and the moment was over. Kyle knew Fred to be a super nice guy from church and was only kidding me because of the car. This story could have ended right here with no one ever knowing about it, but oh, no, not for me!

The next day I was at a good friend’s house who knew of the boxing session and she asked about it. I explained how great it was and how nice Fred and his trainer were, then I proceeded to tell the funny car story just exactly the way I described it above in the same syrupy sarcastic voice that I wish you could actually hear to know how obnoxious I sounded. As I finished telling her the funny car story, I looked down to discover that the whole time I was talking, I was also holding down the record button in a text box on my phone. To my horror when I lifted my thumb, it sent. Not knowing who I just sent the message to and how much I actually recorded, I was not in a full panic yet. But after checking out both, of course I recorded the full message, and of course, who did it send to? Fred! I had just sent that entire sarcastic story to Fred, a cell phone addict’s worst nightmare come true! So I grabbed my friend, and made her go to the AT&T store with me to beg them to some how remove the message hoping that Fred was not a cell phone addict and hadn’t opened the message yet. AT the AT&T store my begging only got the response “sent is sent, nothing we can do.”

So at this point I determined I was doomed forever and had to resort to the only what a good Christian would do, confess and grovel.

I dialed Wilma’s phone number and felt a little relief when I got her voice message greeting instead of her Actual voice. Then I proceeded to tell the whole story stuttering and stammering. It was a full confession and apology of exactly what I did. Now I just had to sit back and hope for forgiveness, but, no, ten minutes later my phone rings. I show my friend, and she forces me to answer the call from Fred. He said, “Lisa, I just got a weird message on my phone from you.” I asked, “Fred, did you listen to it?” “Not yet, he said. I went through the whole confession groveling process again and told him the whole story. Thank you, God, this family has a sense of humor. We hung up after he said that Kyle and I could borrow his car sometime.

Five minutes later, I get a text from Fred with about 25 lol’s in front of it. He said, “Lisa, the best part of this whole story is that I never received your audio text!!!!!

You’ve got to be kidding! There are so many lessons in this post that most people learn by middle school. Lol.

End Note: I don’t need to borrow Fred’s car now. I traded my average Juke for my own convertible, not so hot, but cute.

Fred and Wilma, you two are the best. Thank you for your grace and forgiveness. I will never do this again …… well until next time!

As my fourth grade students say, “Well, that was awkward!”

Awkward

img_4314

Author: parkinsons95

I used to be a stay in the lines, go with the flow, don't make waves kind of person. I have changed. Parkinson's is one of the many cards dealt to one in life that can shift the mind set. I am now a find the line and push beyond it, swim against the flow, and waves? I will splash and make as much joyful noise as I can, while I can, fearlessly. Brave.

Leave a Reply

