What Do You Do?

A regular college baseball game is 9 innings long, and I mean looooong. When the game is tied at the end of those 9 innings, they keep playing and playing and playing, until one team scores that one little run that edges out the other team. After hours of battle one team goes home victorious, the other, just edged out, and has the big L stamped next to that game forever in the record books.

That is what happened last night to my son’s college team, The Dayton, Flyers. After 5.5 hours of play and 12 innings, they were edged out of a victory by one little run, 21-20. It was called a slugfest so many runs were scored.

Since the game of baseball is so looooong, and I mean looooong, you have so much time for your mind to wander. I like to spend some of that time comparing baseball to life in general.

So what do you do when life feels like you are battling in extra innings and the battling goes on and on? What do you do the morning after that battle when you wake up to remember that after all the hard work you put in, you still have to count the circumstance as loss? ……..

You get up and do it again! You get up. Look up! Keep your head held high and do it again!

It’s called grit! Dig down deep and do it again. Keep going, and don’t quit until you start seeing the V for victory in your life, whatever that means for you in your situation.

Flyers, get up, do it again. Look Up. Hold your heads held high. You’re going to start seeing those V’s for victory.

As for me, I may have life completely figured out by the end of the season if I keep pondering life during these games that are so looooong!

50974655254__11607c7e-76c4-484b-b9fe-5ab52400b887

Author: parkinsons95

I used to be a stay in the lines, go with the flow, don't make waves kind of person. I have changed. Parkinson's is one of the many cards dealt to one in life that can shift the mind set. I am now a find the line and push beyond it, swim against the flow, and waves? I will splash and make as much joyful noise as I can, while I can, fearlessly. Brave.

Leave a Reply

