Listen for the Battle Cry….

It’s finally here– First Punch. I know it seems like an odd title for a song of hope. Those two words sum up so much for me. I look back at when I would sit in the darkness of despair, literally in my closet, with the realization that this Parkinson’s Disease is not going away. My closet was my place of refuge, and I could not find my way out. “Mom’s crying in the closet again!” Those are words  I will never forget living with all men who did not know how to help me. Then I was encouraged, or should I say coerced into going to a Rocksteady boxing class for people with Parkinson’s. Taking that “First Punch” changed my life.

When I shared the lyrics with a friend of mine going through a different type of struggle in her life, she told me, “You Know, Lisa, this is not just a song about boxing and Parkinson’s. This is about my struggle, too. It helps me to face what I fear, too.”

So to anyone out there who is facing despair and needs encouragement, “listen, listen to the battle cry calling to get up, get up and try”…..

Don’t give up! There are people who care.

Sometimes you need to trust and have faith to take that first Punch at what you fear most.

….. so dig deep, find strength and trust….. and throw that First Punch!

First Punch, by Heather Richardson

https://itun.es/us/8suEib

Author: parkinsons95

I used to be a stay in the lines, go with the flow, don't make waves kind of person. I have changed. Parkinson's is one of the many cards dealt to one in life that can shift the mind set. I am now a find the line and push beyond it, swim against the flow, and waves? I will splash and make as much joyful noise as I can, while I can, fearlessly. Brave.

Leave a Reply

