And We Smile On

I was with a friend yesterday. I picked her up and we went together to buy a gift for wedding that we are both attending. We stood at the registry of a local store for about 15 minutes deciding what to buy. Then it took about 20 minutes for the cashier to figure out how to split our bill, order, and ship the item in between waiting on other customers. It is amazing how you can connect with someone through a song.

I only know his name because of his name tag. David started singing to the radio playing in the background Versace on the Floor by Bruno Mars while he waited on us. I have a funny story about that song. You can read it in an earlier blog post of mine called “Sachie on the Floor!” I told him that story, and we shared a laugh. He then proceeded to tell me that he is a writer, too. One thing led to another, and then My friend was telling him about First Punch, the song by Heather Richardson that I cowrote. I thought he would be bored with it, but I played a little of it.  It is far from being Versace on the Floor. But when this young, African American kid got tears in his eyes and said he needed to hear that because of the hard time he is going through right now in his life, I thought, “yes, this is why we wrote it.”

This kid and I have nothing in common, but I got a glimpse of his pain and his struggle through a few seconds of a shared song. I may never see David again, but I will never forget this honest moment when the wall of “put on a smile” came down for just a moment to remind me– we all are struggling with something behind our smiles.

Be kind always because there is pain behind our smiles — and we smile on.

First Punch – Single by Heather Richardson https://itun.es/us/8suEib

Author: parkinsons95

I used to be a stay in the lines, go with the flow, don't make waves kind of person. I have changed. Parkinson's is one of the many cards dealt to one in life that can shift the mind set. I am now a find the line and push beyond it, swim against the flow, and waves? I will splash and make as much joyful noise as I can, while I can, fearlessly. Brave.

3 thoughts on “And We Smile On”

  1. lisa you always post a writing that touches me in some way. So thankful you are my friend and I can read your writings and know I am not always alone, but smile and maybe it will be of benefit. Today has been a little worse than others, but we will get through and SMILE ON. Jan

    Like

    1. Jan,
      Thank you for your encouragement! I have found that the only way to face the days that are worse than others is to fully embrace them. I know that seems strange. But I think when you embrace the grief and pain of what you are facing with the full intent of releasing it the same way you would give someone s hug, it doesn’t consume you! Embrace it, feel it, grieve it. Don’t let it stop you from embracing the next moment in your life that could be a little less difficult or absolute pure joy. Our lives are made up of all these moments. Now do me a favor, please. Save this reply and shoot it back to me when I’m having a day that is worse than others!!
      Love you!
      Lisa

      Like

Leave a Reply

